August 15, 2018

New Titles from Neill Public Library....


By Susan Mallery
Available In: Print Book

#1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery masterfully explores the definition of a modern family - blended by surprise, not by choice - and how those complicated relationships can add unexpected richness to life.

 
By Tom Miller
Available In: Print Book

In the tradition of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness, Tom Miller writes with unrivaled imagination, ambition, and humor. The Philosopher’s Flight is both a fantastical reimagining of American history and a beautifully composed coming-of-age tale for anyone who has ever felt like an outsider.

 
By Danielle Steel
Available in: Print Book

Against the electrifying backdrop of the 1960s, Danielle Steel unveils the gripping chronicle of a young woman discovering a passion for justice and of the unsung heroes she encounters on her quest to fight the good fight.

August 08, 2018

New Titles from Neill Public Library...


By David Scadden
Available in: Print Book

What is it like to encounter cancer? How does it feel to face the unknown, to enter a world of hope, loss, and dread? Through opening a window into the science of medicine in the world of the unknown, Scadden and D’Antonio humanize cancer while inspiring action that we all so desperately need.



By Richard Vinen
Available in: Print Book

A major new history of one of the seminal years in the postwar world, when rebellion and disaffection broke out on an extraordinary scale. 1968 is a striking and original attempt half a century later to show how these events, which in some ways still seem so current, stemmed from histories and societies which are in practice now extraordinarily remote from our own time.


Buzz: The Nature and Necessityof Bees

By Thor Hanson
Available in: Print Book

From the award-winning author of The Triumph of Seeds and Feathers, a natural and cultural history of the buzzing wee beasties that make the world go round.
As informative and enchanting as the waggle dance of a honeybee, Buzz shows us why all bees are wonders to celebrate and protect. Read this book and you'll never overlook them again.

August 01, 2018

New Titles from Neill Public Library...


By Anne Tyler
Available In: Print Book

A charming new novel of self-discovery and second chances from the best-selling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Spool of Blue Thread. A bewitching novel of hope and transformation, Clock Dance gives us Anne Tyler at the height of her powers.

 

By Johanna Lindsey
Available in: Print Book

#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey takes you on a captivating adventure in 1880s Montana where passions and gold fever run high as an American heiress turns to a rugged mountain man to help her locate her father’s fortune.


By Riley Sager
Available In: Print Book

In the latest thriller from the bestselling author of Final Girls, a young woman returns to her childhood summer camp to uncover the truth about a tragedy that happened there fifteen years ago. 

If you would like to see what new items were added to the library's collections during the month of July, follow this link!  Many of the items are still being processed so it can take a while for them to be ready to be checked out, but go ahead and place a hold and you'll be notified when it's ready for you to pick up. Make sure we have a current email and postal address for you.

New downloadable items are added every month as well. Here's the link to the Washington Anytime Library.

July 28, 2018

What Difference Does it Make?


by Kathleen Ahern

Children's Librarian


“What difference does it make?  Yeah, what difference does anything make anymore?”  Last week, I overhead those two troubling questions voiced by young women who were behind me in a grocery store line. Their questions stopped me in my tracks as they spoke of global warming, the separation of children from their parents and other concerning current issues.

I, too, feel greatly saddened, shocked and overwhelmed at times when I ponder the state of our nation and our world at large.  However, it didn’t feel appropriate for me to intrude on their conversation.  So instead, I will share a lovely story by Loren Eiseley that has and continues to serve as a beautiful reminder to me of the difference we each can choose to make. So for those two young women and all the rest of us, with deep appreciation to Loren Eisely, I share:

Once upon a time, there was a wise man who used to go to the ocean to do his writing. He had a habit of walking on the beach before he began his work.

One day, as he was walking along the shore, he looked down the beach and saw a human figure moving like a dancer. He smiled to himself at the thought of someone who would dance to the day, and so, he walked faster to catch up.

As he got closer, he noticed that the figure was that of a young man, and that what he was doing was not dancing at all. The young man was reaching down to the shore, picking up small objects, and throwing them into the ocean.

He came closer still and called out "Good morning! May I ask what it is that you are doing?"

The young man paused, looked up, and replied "Throwing starfish into the ocean."

"I must ask, then, why are you throwing starfish into the ocean?" asked the somewhat startled wise man.

To this, the young man replied, "The sun is up and the tide is going out. If I don't throw them in, they'll die."

Upon hearing this, the wise man commented, "But, young man, do you not realize that there are miles and miles of beach and there are starfish all along every mile? You can't possibly make a difference!"

At this, the young man bent down, picked up yet another starfish, and threw it into the ocean. As it met the water, he said, "It made a difference for that one.” 

A powerful story, indeed.  And as you ponder it, I encourage you to head to Neill Public Library.  We have a plethora of books and other resources to inform you, encourage you and inspire you to make a difference.