January 12, 2019

Looking Forward to Winter...Books


It is the first week of January, and as I write the dreaded “wintry mix” is pelting my office window, glazing streets and sidewalks with an inhospitable layer of precipitation.  And all of Pullman seems to be slightly on edge as students return, traffic increases, and we suddenly realize that April and May feel very far away.  January, February, and March just don’t seem all that exciting.

But in the midst of all this, Neill Public Library continues to receive new materials and we’re really looking forward to a variety of upcoming book releases, even during these days of gray skies and early sunsets. In January alone, we have new novels from James Lee Burke (New Iberia Blues), a new James Patterson (there’s always a new James Patterson, FYI), and a whole selection of Instant Pot cookbooks. We also just received my favorite book of the month, as far as the title is concerned- How to Hold a Grudge: From Resentment to Contentment, written by Sophie Hannah.

February brings another James Patterson (seriously), a new Eve Dallas book from J.D. Robb (Connections in Death), and a new thriller from Jane Harper, The Lost Man. Susan Mallery has a new book coming out- California Girls, which, judging by the cover, might make you feel warm even in the depths of winter. We’ll also receive The Border, the last book in Don Winslow’s The Cartel trilogy.

In late February, we’ll have a new Mark Bittman cookbook (Dinner for Everyone), with a wide variety of recipes for all types of eaters and occasions.

March will bring us new books from Harlan Coben (Run Away) and another installment in the reliably excellent Joe Pickett series from CJ Box (Wolf Pack). We’ll also have Gretchen Rubin’s new self-care book- Outer Order, Inner Calm, just in time for your spring cleaning routines. Don’t worry, there will be another James Patterson, too, along with new thrillers from Catherine Coulter, Stuart Woods, and Iris Johansen.

If your taste runs more towards the movie side of the library, we’ve already pre-ordered copies of A Star is Born, Bohemian Rhapsody, The Grinch, First Man, The Hate U Give, and many more. For fans of Planet Earth and Blue Planet, February also brings a brand-new BBC David Attenborough documentary, Dynasties.

Interested in any of these? Contact us and we’ll make sure you get on the list ahead of time. And be sure to come in and check out our new book selection today; you might just find the title that helps you through the short days and slippery sidewalks. Rest assured, we have many more on the way.  


Dan Owens
Adult Services Librarian

No comments: